Skip to content

Happy Happy Birthday

June 25, 2011

In addition to all the exciting events going on in our busy, busy lives – in just a few short weeks I’m going to be celebrating my 23 birthday. Writing that statement, all that was going through my head was ‘woaaah Sarah you are getting old.’

But I digress.

To celebrate this event (seeing as last birthday I was just getting out of hospital and not yet able to eat solid food), I’m taking a weekend trip to Sydney with my family … and buying things. Now I’m definitely not buying ALL of this things (or not yet at least), but you know… if any of you wish to send birthday gifts my way, now you have a list to work off of… I kid (I’m not kidding).

Coats? Yes Please. Until it is socially acceptable to start walking around outside my house in faux fur blankets, these gorgeous printed jackets from ASOS and Zara will have to do. Look! Detailing! Prints! Buttons! My favourite thing about every single one of these jackets is that they are all statement pieces, but all in completely different ways. That means that you can just throw any of them on with jeans and some heels, and suddenly it’s an outfit.

 

  1. Asos Drapey Cropped Trench
  2. Asos Striped Collarless Mac
  3. Asos Pleated Mac
  4. Zara Leopard Print Blazer
  5. Zara Printed Kimono
  6. Zara Printed Blazer

 

Zara has just opened its doors to Melbourne (there were girls camped out for days apparently) and I absolutely love the clothes. I haven’t trekked into the physical shop yet, but I have done some pretty serious online browsing, picking out my favourites and getting all excited to go and try things on. I’m the most excited about trying on the ox-blood chinos, because my goodness I want some ox-blood coloured pants. But I’ve also been looking for a lady like way to wear leopard print and leather, so the printed tunic and pleated leather skirt are also going to be major contenders for the big buy.

 

  1. Zara Printed Tunic
  2. Zara Sequinned Blazer
  3. Zara Striped Dress
  4. Zara Pleated Leather Skirt
  5. Zara Multicolour Blouse
  6. Zara Pleated Chino Pants

(Since I wrote this post the Zara Printed Tunic seems to have been taken off the website… leaving me to wonder if I only dreamt of its existence?)

 

 

And finally the big ticket items… The Meadowlark bone bracelet and skull wreath necklace can only be described as beautiful… le sigh (Hey look! We’re featured on Meadowlark’s website!) I love quirky jewellery that at demands a second glance. I’m also usually super picky about shoes, but these scalloped leopard print boots just drew my eye to them. They’re so over the top in every way… but… want… must have… The same goes for the neon Zara Sandals. I wasn’t completely sold when I saw them on the website, but then I saw the lovely lady from Cupcakes and Cashmere (her blog is sublime, you must check it out) wearing them and they’re so the opposite of something I would wear but again… want… need… drool.

  1. Alfie Tan Leopard print Scallop Top Ankle Boots
  2. Meadowlark Silver Bone Bracelet
  3. MeadowLark Skull Wreath Necklace
  4. Moto Tie Dye Zip Skinny Jeans
  5. Zara Neon Canvas Platform Sandal
3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2011 1:10 pm

    Haha, those shoes totally confused me too, I love them but everything about them should technically turn me right off.

  2. ginblossoms permalink*
    June 27, 2011 8:08 pm

    exactly! Leopard print, scalloped edged little pixie shoes… everything about them is wrong but the sum of all parts is so deliciously right

    • June 28, 2011 12:54 am

      Lol I was referring to the pink ones, but the leopard print ones are also cute.

Leave a Reply

